Canadian Mining Journal


AWARDS: AME winners chosen

Six people who worked on the Brucejack gold project are being honoured by the AME next month. (Image: Pretium Resources)

VANCOUVER – The Association for Mineral Exploration has announced its 2017 award winners. The recipients will receive their awards at the AME awards celebration of excellence gala to be held in this city Jan. 24, 2018, during the AME Roundup conference (

This year’s award winners are:

Ron Burk, Ken Konkin and Ken McNaughton, will be recipients of the H. H. “Spud” Huestis Award for excellence in prospecting and mineral exploration in B.C. and/or Yukon. They are being honoured for their pivotal roles in discovering the Valley of the Kings deposit at Pretium Resources’ Brucejack mine in northwest British Columbia

Joseph Ovsenek, David Prins and Kevin Torpy, will be recipients of the E.A. Scholz Award for excellence in mine development in B.C. and/or Yukon. They are honoured for commitment and leadership in advancing the Brucejack mine to production.

Ron Netolitzky, will be the recipient of the Murray Pezim Award for perseverance and success in financing mineral exploration in B.C. and/or Yukon. He is honoured for an illustrious career spanning five decades as a company builder and financier, and also as a geologist, prospector, consultant, entrepreneur, developer, advisor, mentor and outspoken advocate on behalf of independents and Canadian junior resource companies.

Patrick Evans, Jonathan Comerford and Carl Verley, will be presented with the Hugo Dummett award for excellence in diamond exploration and development. They are recognized for advancing Mountain Province Diamonds from a junior exploration company to a partner with De Beers Canada, co-launching the Gahcho Kue mine in the Northwest Territories.

Robert Sibthorpe, will be the recipient of the Colin Spence Award for excellence in global mineral exploration, for his role in a mineral exploration program at Roxgold’s Yaramoko property in Burkina Faso that led to the discovery of high grade gold-bearing quartz veins and commercial production by 2016.

Brent Murphy and Elizabeth Miller, will be recipients of the Robert R. Hedley Award for excellence in social and environmental responsibility, for their significant contributions and advances in the realm of social and environmental responsibility related to Seabridge Gold Inc.’s KSM project in northwest British Columbia.

Janice Fingler, will be honoured with the David Barr Award for excellence in leadership and innovation in mineral exploration health and safety for her dedication in leading AME’s Environment, Health & Safety Committee as a strong voice for health and safety in the mineral exploration community.

Mona Forster and Royanna Wild, will be recognized with the Gold Pan Award for their exceptional meritorious service to the mineral exploration community through AME.

Maureen Lipkewich, Gary Nordin and Sheila Stenzel, will be honoured with the Frank Woodside Past Presidents and Past Chairs Award for their distinguished service to the association and/or contribution to the mineral industry.

The two recipients of AME’s Outreach Education Fund are Britannia Mine Museum for its education programs and MineralsEd for its Kids & Rocks classroom workshop.

Six people who worked on the Brucejack gold project are being honoured by the AME next month. (Image: Pretium Resources)

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *