Canadian Mining Journal


AWARDS: PDAC 2016 winners revealed

TORONTO – Industry leaders in seven categories will be honoured for their outstanding contributions to the mineral exploration and mining sector at the Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada‘s (PDAC) 2016 convention. The annual awards showcase the best domestic and international mineral discovery, mine development, Aboriginal achievement, exceptional environment or social responsibility effort, distinguished service, and special achievement.

Recipients will be celebrated at the Awards Evening at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto on March 7, 2016, during the 84th PDAC Convention. The PDAC’s board of directors select recipients based on recommendations of the association’s Awards Committee. A summary of the awards and their recipients are listed below.

Robert Cudney, Stephen Roman and John Whitton are the recipients of this year’s Bill Dennis Award for the Bruce Channel gold discovery at the Red Lake gold camp in northwestern Ontario.

Patricia Sheahan is the recipient of this year’s Distinguished Service Award for her unique and outstanding contribution and dedication to Canada’s mineral industry.

Lucara Diamond, that recently discovered the second largest diamond ever on record, is the recipient of this year’s Environmental & Social Responsibility Award for their stakeholder initiatives, community engagement, and focus on sustainable practices and long term benefits at their Karawoe mine in Botswana.

Darrell Beaulieu is the recipient of this year’s Skookum Jim Award for his innovation, hard work and dedication to the mineral industry in his Yellowknife community.

The Bjorkman family, of Bjorkman Prospecting, are the recipients of this year’s Special Achievement Award for their multi-generational dedication to geology, prospecting and diversity.

The Cukaru Peki discovery team from Reservoir Minerals and Freeport-McMoRan are the recipients of this year’s Thayer Lindsley Award for the discovery of high grade copper-gold deposits in Serbia that may prompt explorers to look for a new class of mineral deposit.

Silver Wheaton is the recipient of this year’s Viola R. MacMillan Award for developing new and innovative business strategies that are a leading example for other companies and junior miners.

More information about the 2016 award recipients is available at