Canadian Mining Journal


People (December 01, 2005)

Agnico-Eagle Mines ltd. of Toronto has appointed Sean Boyd as vice-chairman and CEO, while Ebe Scherkus has been appointed president and COO. Jean Robitaille<...

Agnico-Eagle Mines ltd. of Toronto has appointed Sean Boyd as vice-chairman and CEO, while Ebe Scherkus has been appointed president and COO. Jean Robitaille has been appointed VP, metallurgy and marketing. Pertti Voutilainen, former CEO of Outokumpu, brings his considerable knowledge of the Finnish mining industry to the board by becoming a director.

Vancouver-based BC & Yukon Chamber of Mines has selected the recipients of its annual awards to be presented on Jan. 25. Ed Balon of Almaden Minerals will receive the H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for excellence in prospecting and mineral exploration (such as new discoveries in the Merritt-Lillooet area of British Columbia). Jim O’Rourke of Huckleberry Mines will take home the E.A. Scholz Award for excellence in mine development (for his successes at Cassiar, Huckleberry and Similco). Ned Goodman of Dundee Bancorp will receive the Murray Pezim Award for his leadership in financing and investment in British Columbia’s exploration industry (notably the Eskay Creek gold mine). The name of Dr. John Burney, of Motapa Diamonds and professor at the University of Cape Town, will be the first inscribed on the new Hugo Dummett Award for excellence in diamond exploration and development (identifying G10 garnets as a key indicator mineral).

The management team of Saskatoon’s Claude Resources has been expanded. Patrick Hannon, a graduate of Queen’s and Dalhousie universities, has become VP exploration. Joining him is Brian Groves, who is now VP corporate development.

Gemcom Software of Vancouver has named Marius Botha its VP of services and Ram Sudama as its new chief technology officer.

Ferdi Dippenaar has been named president and CEO of Great Basin Gold in Vancouver. He is a graduate of North West University in South Africa and recently was executive director of corporate affairs for Harmony Gold. Dippenaar will also advise other companies managed by the Hunter Dickinson Group.

On Jan. 9, Vancouver’s New Gold Inc. will welcome Kevin Ross as its COO. He is a graduate mining engineer from the Royal School of Mines in London, U.K., and holds an MBA degree as well.

North American Palladium of Toronto has named James Excell as its president and CEO effective Jan. 1, 2006. He takes over the reins from Andr Douchane who steps up to the chairman’s position. Excell served as chairman of BHP Billiton Diamonds until the end of June 2005.

Adrianna Stech is the new environmental manager at the Toronto-based Ontario Mining Association. She will be responsible for managing the activities of the OMA Environment Committee and representing the association in various environmental and sustainability working groups and coalitions and at conferences and events.

Toronto-based Rio Narcea Gold Mines has announced that effective Jan. 1, its chairman Chris I. von Christierson will assume the additional duties of CEO. John W.W. Hick, the current CEO, will become vice-chairman of the board. The change was decided following a strategic review of the company’s assets and management.

Denis Villeneuve has been made the president and general manager of South-Malartic Exploration, from which Jean Fournier has resigned. Villeneuve will handle both administrative and geological duties. Leon Methot has been appointed chairman of the board.

Teck Cominco of Vancouver has made two executive appointments. Robert G. Scott moves from general manager of the company’s Red Dog mine in Alaska into the corporate office as VP base metal mining. Ronald J. Vance joins the firm as senior VP of corporate development. Most recently he was a managing director at Rothschild Inc.

Tyler Resources of Calgary completed a corporate reorganization that saw Jean-Pierre Jutras take over the duties of CEO and retain his role as president and COO. Dr. Shane Ebert has been named VP exploration and Jennifer Munro has been named CFO.

Calgary’s Western Oil Sands has announced a number of appointments to become effective on Jan. 1, 2006. John Frangos will step down as executive VP and COO to be replaced by Steve Reynish, presently senior VP mining. Frangos will remain an advisor to the board. Gerry Luft, who has been responsible for marketing, will become VP downstream. Simon Hatfield, as VP and managing director, will add business development efforts to his duties.

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *