MINING PEOPLE IN THE NEWS Barrick, IMC, Canadian Oil Sands, Canico, Gabriel, European GF, Cumberland, IMA Exploration, CIM Awards

Alex Davidson has been promoted to executive VP of exploration at BARRICK GOLD CORP. Since joining the company in 1...
Alex Davidson has been promoted to executive VP of exploration at BARRICK GOLD CORP. Since joining the company in 1993, Davidson has overseen the expansion of Barrick's exploration program from North America into South America and around the world. Davidson is also holder of the most recent Prospector of the Year Award from the PDAC.

Bernard M. Michel, retired chairman and CEO of Cameco Corp., was
elected to the board of IMC GLOBAL INC. last week. He is also chairman of Bruce Power Inc.

CANADIAN OIL SANDS TRUST has named Allen Hagerman CFO of its subsidiary, Canadian Oil Sands Ltd. The appointment takes effect June 1, 2003.

CANICO RESOURCES has appointed Quayle Lusty as VP of projects and development to replace Tony Luteijn who has retired but remains a consultant to the company.

Frank Timis has resigned as a director of GABRIEL RESOURCES, but will continue to assist the company as an independent consultant in connection with the development of the Rosia Montana gold-silver project in Romania. Timis has also resigned his executive and directorial responsibilities at EUROPEAN GOLDFIELDS.

Clive Donner, who has been a director of EUROPEAN GOLDFIELDS since
June 2001, has been appointed non-executive chairman of the company.
Donner is also manager of the ROTHSCHILD GOLDEN ARROW FUND, which has an
approximate 9% interest in European Goldfields.

Michael L. Carroll is the new CFO of CUMBERLAND RESOURCES. He has over 20 years of financial management experience in the mining sector, notably with Homestake Mining, Bond International Gold and St. Joe Minerals.

IMA EXPLORATION has appointed Chet Idziszek to its board of directors and its technical committee. He was instrumental in the discovery and development of the Eskay Creek gold mine in British Columbia. He is a recipient of both the Mining Man of the Year Award and Prospector of the Year Award.

The CANADIAN INSTITUTE OF MINING, METALLURGY & PETROLEUM honoured several members at its annual meeting earlier this month in Montreal. Among those who were recognized were Patricia Dillon of Toronto (CIM Distinguished Service Medal), Derek Barratt of North Vancouver, B.C. (Inco Medal), John K. Carrington of Toronto (Slewyn G. Blaylock Medal), Frank Condon of Oakville, Ont. (Members Award), Florence Sigut of Coxheath, N.S. (Order of Sancta Barbara), Peter C. Read of Fort McMurray, Alta. (Past President's Memorial Medal), Arthur Brant formerly of Tucson, Ariz. (A.O. Dufresne Award), Gerald G. Carlson of North Vancouver, B.C. (J.C. Sproule Award), William Hume of Edmonton, Alta. (Coal Award), Lawrence Devon Smith of Toronto (Robert Elver Mineral Economics Award), Michael Kinash of Edmonton (McParland Memorial Award), and Marcel Valle of Quebec City (Julian Boldy Memorial Award). For an explanation of the various awards, see "Awards" under the Membership Services section at


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dec 06 2023 - Dec 07 2023
Dec 11 2023 - Dec 12 2023
Dec 11 2023 - Dec 12 2023
Dec 13 2023 - Dec 14 2023