MINING PEOPLE IN THE NEWS – East Asia Minerals, Esco, Golden Band, IamGold, La Quinta, Minco Silver, Ontex, StrataGold and Uranium One

As it refocuses its energy on uranium assets, Vancouvers EAST ASIAN MINERALS has made several changes to its manag...
As it refocuses its energy on uranium assets, Vancouvers EAST ASIAN MINERALS has made several changes to its management team. Former VP exploration Michael Hawkins has become president. Lyndon Bradish, the companys former president, CEO and director has stepped down from all three positions. The interim CEO will be Darren Pylot, who is also chairman.

ESCO CORPORATION of Portland, Ore., has realigned its management. Cal Collins has become group VP for engineered products, North American operations. Pat Fonner has become group VP for engineered products, global sales and marketing.

Gary Haywood, who previously managed the McArthur River uranium mine, will be VP operations and COO of Saskatoon-based GOLDEN BAND RESOURCES. He replaces Rodney Orr who will move up to president and CEO. Former president and CEO Ronald Netolitzky will become chairman. These appointments take effect on May 1, 2007.

There are new faces at Torontos IAMGOLD. Senior VP Americas Jacques Perron, formerly VP, Canada with Cambior, will become senior VP Americas. Denis Miville-Deschenes, formerly general manager of the Rosebel mine, will return to Canada to become senior VP project development. Janet Wilkinson has been hired as senior VP human resources.

LA QUINTA RESOURCES of Vancouver has named Michel Cormier its president and COO.

Dwayne Melrose has been named VP exploration at MINCO SILVER CORP. of Vancouver.

London, Ont.-based ONTEX RESOURCES has appointed Armen Chilian as VP exploration.

STRATAGOLD CORP. of Vancouver has named Gregor Hamilton its new VP corporate development. His background is in geology and banking.

Having completed its acquisition of UrAsia Energy, SRX URANIUM ONE of Toronto and Johannesburg has shuffled its board of directors. The board now comprises Ian Telfer as non-executive chairman and Andrew Adams, David Hodgson, Phillip Shirvington, Terry Rosenberg, Mark Wheatley and Kenneth Williamson as non-executive directors. Neal Froneman, Uranium Ones president and CEO, will remain an executive director. Terry MacGibbon has resigned. Several changes were also made to the executive team. Robin Merrifield, previously CFO of UrAsia, will become executive VP and CFO of Uranium One. Jean Nortier, previously executive VP and CFO of Uranium One will move to the newly created position of executive VP Corporate Affairs.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *