MINING PEOPLE IN THE NEWS – Goldcorp, Kinross, Gemcom, Taseko, Romarco, Gold Fields, Newmex, Majescor, SXR Uranium, Endeavour

Vancouver's GOLDCORP has appointed Doug Holtby its new chairman, replacing Robert McEwen who resigned on Oct. 29, 2...
Vancouver's GOLDCORP has appointed Doug Holtby its new chairman, replacing Robert McEwen who resigned on Oct. 29, 2005.

John K. Carrington and Catherine McLeod-Seltzer have joined the KINROSS GOLD board of directors. Carrington held the post of vice-chairman at Barrick Gold prior to his retirement at the end of 2004. He is a director of the Canadian Mineral Industry Education Foundation, honourary chairman of the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada, past director of the Gold Institute, past chairman and director of the Mining Association of Canada and a former member of the Lassonde Mineral Engineering Program at the University of Toronto. McLeod-Seltzer is president of Pacific Rim Mining and has an extensive knowledge of mining finance, Latin American explorations, mergers, acquisitions and negotiations

Dr. Tony Diering, VP of advanced technologies at GEMCOM SOFTWARE, has been named adjunct professor by the University of British Columbia's Mining Engineering Department. Diering is a pioneer in block caving technology. He has a BSc (honours) in applied mathematics, a BSc (honours) in geophysics, an MSc in mining engineering, and a PhD in rock mechanics.

Vancouver-based TASEKO MINES has named John W. McManus as VP operations and Robert Rotzinger as general manager of the Gibraltar joint venture. Rotzinger has worked at the Gibraltar mine since 1994 in increasingly senior positions. McManus comes to the mine from Elk Valley Coal.

ROMARCO MINERALS has made two recent appointments. Edward Van Ginkel, a director of the company, has been named its chairman, and Dr. Tommy Thompson has been appointed VP exploration.

Effective Nov. 17, 2005, Christopher M.T. Thompson will retire as chairman of South Africa's GOLD FIELDS. Alan J. Wright was unanimously elected to replace him.

NEWMEX MINERALS of Calgary has chosen Gary S. Guidry as its president and CEO, Gary G. Hyde as COO, and Shirley Farr as corporate secretary. Both Guidry and Hyde come to the company from the oil and gas sector.

Pierre Leblanc, the founder of Canadian Diamond Consultants, has joined the board of Montreal-based MAJESCOR RESOURCES. He worked for Diavik Diamond Mines as VP of corporate affairs from 2000 to 2003. Leblanc replaces Michael Halvorson.

SXR URANIUM ONE has proposed that its board include Andrew Adams as chairman-designate, Terry McGibbon, Ken Williamson and Terry Rosenberg. They will join president and CEO Neal Froneman and non-executive directors Mark Wheatley and John Sibley. SXR Uranium is the new company to be formed when the necessary regulatory and shareholder approvals are given for the acquisition of Johannesburg, South Africa-based AFLEASE GOLD AND URANIUM RESOURCES by Toronto-based SOUTHERN CROSS RESOURCES.

Frank E. Holmes has joined ENDEAVOUR MINING CAPITAL as its chairman. He is also chairman, CEO and chief investment officer of U.S. Global Investors, which has been named equity investment advisor to Endeavour.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *