SAFETY WINNERS – Ryan Trophies awarded

VANCOUVER - The winners of the JOHN T. RYAN NATIONAL SAFETY TROPHY competition for the calendar year 2005 demonstra...
VANCOUVER - The winners of the JOHN T. RYAN NATIONAL SAFETY TROPHY competition for the calendar year 2005 demonstrate the highest level of commitment and consistency to safe production in Canada's mining industry.

In the coal category, LUSCAR's Genesee mine and WESTERN CANADIAN COAL's Dillon mine tied with a zero frequency in reportable injuries. Matching that level of excellence was PCS POTASH New Brunswick Division, which won in the select mine category with a zero frequency. The winner in the metal mine category, INCO's Garson mine in Ontario, was close to the zero frequency mark.

This marks the eighth time the Genesee mine has earned the national coal trophy. The seven previous years in which this operation has won were 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002 and 2003. This is the second time PCS Potash New Brunswick Division has gained the trophy in the select mine category. It won previously in 2003.

Inco's Garson mine, this year's winner in the metal mine category, also won in 1945, in the early years of the history of the Ryan Trophies. This is back-to-back wins for Inco. Last year, Inco's Birchtree mine in Manitoba made its way to the podium as the top metal mine.

In congratulating the winners, Ryan Safety Trophy Committee Chairman George Pirie noted that mining operations from across the country are constantly striving to improve safety results. "This year's winners have safety traditions and cultures," said Pirie. "They are leaders with their excellent performances, which demonstrate a commitment to safe production by all employees and by management."

The year 2005 John T. Ryan Safety Trophies were presented recently at the 108th annual general meeting of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (, which was held in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Peter McBride (416-364-9301) is the secretary of the Ryan Committee.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Aug 12 2021 - Aug 13 2021
Aug 17 2021 - Aug 18 2021
Aug 25 2021 - Aug 26 2021
Sep 07 2021 - Sep 09 2021