AWARDS: AME BC releases list of winners for 2015

VANCOUVER – The Association for Mineral Exploration British Columbia (AME BC) has announced the 2015 recipients of its annual awards presented to […]
VANCOUVER – The Association for Mineral Exploration British Columbia (AME BC) has announced the 2015 recipients of its annual awards presented to individuals or teams for significant contributions to the mineral exploration and development industry. The AME BC Awards Celebration of Excellence Gala will be held on January 27 during the Mineral Exploration Roundup 2016 conference. Tickets are available through registration at This year’s recipients are as follows: Peter Bradshaw, Ron Britten, and Ursula Mowat are the recipients of the H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for excellence in prospecting and mineral exploration in recognition of their efforts in identifying and commencing development of a new type of nickel deposit exemplified by the Decar project in central British Columbia. Rob Pease and Scott Shellhaas are the recipients of the E.A. Scholz Award for Excellence in Mine Development for advancing the Mount Milligan copper‐gold project in central BC through development to production from 2006 to 2013. Clive Johnson is the recipient of the Murray Pezim Award for Perseverance and Success in Financing Mineral Exploration for his roles in financing mineral exploration companies including Eldorado Gold Corp., Bema Gold Corp. and B2Gold Corp. Eira Thomas is the recipient of the Hugo Dummett Diamond Award for Excellence in Diamond Exploration and Development for significant contributions throughout her career to diamond exploration, discovery and mine development in Canada. Joe Piekenbrock and Rick Van Nieuwenhuyse are the recipients of the Colin Spence Award for Excellence in Global Mineral Exploration for their success in applying predictive geological modelling techniques in Alaska. Their efforts defined and significantly expanded the Donlin Creek gold deposit and Arctic copper-zinc-silver massive sulphide deposit as well as discovering and exploring the Bornite copper deposit. Patrick McAndless is the recipient of the Robert R. Hedley Award for Excellence in Social and Environmental Responsibility for his passion and talent in mentoring young professionals and his commitment to advancing the human capital of the mineral exploration and mining sector. The late Lise Tompson-Cyr is the recipient of the David Barr Award for Excellence in Leadership and Innovation in Mineral Exploration Health and Safety for her creation of 1984 Inc., a company that had the safety of mineral exploration personnel engrained in its culture because of her leadership. Lindsay Bottomer is the recipient of the Gold Pan Award for his exceptional meritorious service to the mineral exploration community through his work with AME BC as a volunteer for more than 20 years on a number of different committees and as president from 1998 to 2000. Jerry Asp, Barry Price and Hans Smit are recipients of the Frank Woodside Past Presidents and Chairs Award for their distinguished service to the association and/or contribution to the mineral industry. The three recipients of the AME BC Outreach Education Fund are MineralsEd for its Kids & Rocks Program; Britannia Mine Museum for its education programs; and the Centre of Training Excellence in Mining to produce the second edition of B.C. Career Pathways Guidebook: Mining Careers. For more details about each award, click here.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *